A year ago

Us a year ago today

A year ago I was intensely involved in infertility treatments, trying to get pregnant with a second child.

A year ago I was 55 pounds heavier than I am now. (the above photo kind of shows the difference.)

A year ago I couldn’t do much physical labor without turning bright red

A year ago I was just atarting up my photography business

A year ago Katie was 2.5

A lot can change in a year. We didn’t have a second child and we put that part of our life on hold. It was stressful, we had tried every month for all of 2008. I gained some weight, though not a lot, maybe 10 pounds. I am happier today that we are putting things on hold becaue I know that our time will come. When it does, I will be healthier. This year I decided I was going to get healthy and for the first time in my life I have stuck with it. Losing 47 pounds so far feels amazing. I would have never imagined that I was going to do this a year ago. And now I can work in the yard for hours. I can walk 8 miles. I can do so many new things!

My photography business is booming, at least in my opinion. I am busy every week with one, if not two, sessions and I am charging what I feel I am worth. This is a great feeling. I am learning every day about different techniques and different ways to do things and I am loving it. It is amazing.

Katie never ceases to amaze me. She is creative beyond belief. She is sensitive, like her mom. She is just so full of life. I wish I could tape everyday of her life, all of the cute things she says and does. She sings like crazy and i love it. She is learning her letters, to read them and figure out their sounds. We give her a word, like farm, and ask her what it starts with and she sounds it out and 9 times out of 10 she gets it right. that amazes me. She wants to play soccer and do gymnastics, both things we are happy to let her do. She does chores and earns money for doing it. She is currently saving enough so she can buy an ice cream from the ice cream truck.

I am so lucky n my life. Sometimes things come around that make it hard to focus on the good. But I am trying. I am trying to use this blog to help me see what good each day brings. What positive happened today? besides the general positives, like having a roof over our heads and being healthy, we had lots of positives today. I started off the day with a weight loss. I wore one of my favorite outfits to work, the day went by fast and I was home to pick up Katie from school in no time! Katie got a sucker from Walgreens. We got new mailboxes in our sub and they look so nice. I got to work on editing photos and I had a good workout at the gym. Do you see all of the positives? It is endless! 🙂 they are all so little, things we might just not think of, but why not think of the good from the day?

What were your good things today?

4 responses to “A year ago

  1. Patti, you are such an inspiration to me…. you truly hit the nail on the head when you spoke about focusing on all the positives in your life. You are so blessed and such a beautiful woman, inside and out!

    ~Jessica~

  2. Good things today…. I made my dear mother-in-law laugh, when she is very sad and afraid of losing her husband of 60 years.

    I was feeling uninspired, but still needed to do my 365, so I walked to the back of the garage and the coneflowers were at the peak of their bloom. Instant inspiration!

    Thanks, Patti… for reminding me.

    xoxo

  3. I am so proud of you!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

